OTD: Saratoga Patent was issued

On this day in 1684, Royal Governor Thomas Dongan issued the Saratoga Patent. The original patentees included Colonel Peiter Schuyler, Robert Livingston, Dirck Wessels, Esq., Jan Jan Bleecker, Esq., Johannes Schuyler, Esq., and Cornelius Van Dyck. The original location of the patent being six square miles on both sides of the Hudson River. The original tax of twenty bushels of wheat paid annually to the Crown. Saratoga has been defined by the people who by choice or by chance make up this community. There is no individual who defined this community more than Royal Governor Thomas Dongan. It is the determination of our forefathers, including Governor Dongan in surmounting overwhelming odds that help define the American spirit – the will and ability to shape a better future. It is the people it is that define this community by choice or by chance have changed this country and even the world political development. That is why studying the people of Saratoga advances the understanding of the condition of being human.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s