Hiking Historic Routes

  
I enjoyed this New Yorker article.  The article starts with “I like to walk in the American Revolution. It’s something I do a lot. You get some old maps and pick out a route—a retreat, a long march—and maybe convince a friend to come along, and then you are off into the past. New York is a great place for it anytime, but especially in the fall, especially when it starts to get cold. The Revolution was fought mostly around here, after all, …”  

This article was written about New York City but it could have written about Saratoga. Not only is this a wonderful place to walk the Battles of Saratoga, but you could also hike the Knox Trail (Henry Knox taking the cannons from Fort Ticonderoga and Crown Point to Boston through our community just this time of year) or even the French Major General Marquis de Chastellux’s tour.  It is also possible to do a number of hikes or walks following in the footsteps of those who fought the various French and Indian wars. Last year a group of reenactors organized the “end of the campaign” event which had a hike from Fort William Henry at Lake George to Fort Edward.  

There is another group based at the Mabee Farm that rows historical route.  My family and I joined that group for a row one night this past summer.  It was a wonderful time for my wife and I. (My eight year old twins did not enjoy it as much.)   

 

As a reenactor, I can say that hiking historical trails is one of my most enjoyable pass times.  I vividly remember in 2001 a few months after the terrorist attacks and even closer to the anthrax scare, hiking from Washington Crossing to Trenton. I had a horrible cold, fever, and sleepless night on a marble floor the night before which seemed to add to the adventure.  But my fever broke on the hike, I was with my friends recreating history and life was good.  Today starts Patriots Week in Trenton, NJ. 

A few years ago, I participated in a great hike into the Battle of Bennington.  The countryside around Walloomsac is stunning and you develop an excellent appreciation of the battle.  However, if you really want a challenge then the German March to Bennington battle from Fort Miller is the trip.  Lakes to Locks Passage has created a great set of resources for a driving tour. 

Happy hiking.  

Leave a Reply

